Advisory Committee

Learn more about LPREN advisory committee members.


The Language Policy Research Network was approved by the AILA Research Networks committee on 2 May 2006. LPREN and the website were formally launched 6 July 2006, at the Sociolinguistics Symposium in Limerick and at the ALAA meeting in Brisbane.

LPREN PanelIn Limerick, some seventy people heard brief presentations on the social responsibilities of linguists working in the area of language policy. Presenters included Nancy Hornberger, University of Pennsylvania; Alastair Pennycook, University of Technology Sydney; Durk Gorter, University of Amsterdam; Donna Patrick, University of Carleton; Gabrielle Hogan-Brun, University of Bristol; and Elana Shohamy, Tel Aviv University.

All agreed that language policy involved combining responsible research with commitment and even some activism. We discussed plans for the LPREN Network. Our organizer Bernard Spolsky, who chaired the session, commented that a network is not a spectator sport, and urged members to initiate activities.

Of the Southern Hemisphere meeting, Richard Baldauf writes:

LPREN Symposium Attendees"In Brisbane we had a relatively small, but very interested group of participants and it sounds like our 'papers' were a bit less formal than perhaps yours were. Each person (William Eggington, Brigham Young University; Koo Yew Lie, National University of Malaysia; Kevin Lowe, Aboriginal Education, NSW Office of the Board of Studies; independent researcher Helen Moore; Donna Starks, University of Auckland, Kerry Taylor-Leech, Griffith University) spoke for about 10 minutes, raising issues from the variety of perspectives represented, and then we had quite a lively and interactive discussion.
"I felt the symposium went very well, and we launched the logo and the web addresses. People went away feeling quite enthusiastic, about both the session, and LP issues."

Committee Members

back to top