2016 Ferguson Award – Wayne E. Wright, PhD

2016 Recipient of the Charles A. Ferguson Award for Outstanding Scholarship: Dr. Wayne E. Wright

Wayne E. Wright is Professor and the Barbara I. Cook Chair of Literacy and Language within the College of Education at Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from California State University Long Beach and his doctorate from Arizona State University. Wright previously served as assistant and later as associate professor in the Department of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies in the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Texas at San Antonio from 2004-2014. 

Wright was a Fulbright Scholar and visiting lecturer at the Royal University of Phnom Penh, Cambodia, in 2009 and 2012 respectively.  He was a faculty associate at Arizona State University East (now ASU Polytechnic) from 2003-2004 and also taught part time from 2001-2003 at Mesa Community College, Northern Arizona University and Arizona State University. Prior to academia, Wright was a bilingual (Khmer), ESL, and SEI teacher in the Long Beach Unified School District from 1994-2000. 

His research focuses on language and educational policies, programs and practices for language minority students. Wright is Co-Editor of the Journal of Language, Identity, and Education, and Editor of the Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement. His most recent publications are Foundations for Teaching English Language Learners: Research, Theory, Policy and Practice (2nd ed., 2015), Caslon Publishing, and (co-editor) The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education (2015) Wiley-Blackwell.

Reception and Presentation of the 2016 Charles A. Ferguson Award

The 2016 Ferguson Award was presented at a reception sponsored by CAL, Stanford, and TESOL, at the TESOL 2016 Convention held in Baltimore, MD.

Left to right: JoAnn Crandall (CAL Board Chair); Wayne E. Wright (2016 Ferguson Award Recipient); Shirley Brice Heath (noted scholar and widow of Charles Ferguson); and Terrence Wiley (CAL President).